Notices
Engine Got engine work, simple or complex? Let's hear about it!! Everything from air filters and exhaust systems to stroker kits goes here.

Need some advice and suggestions

Old 05-13-2009, 03:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some advice and suggestions

I recently bought a 1969 Dodge Challenger. I don't know much about it as I am new to cars and car restoration. This is my first. What I'm interested in though is knowing what to do with it. What kind of engine, what kind of peripherals to put on the engine, what are the advantages of doing a "Numbers" car over doing a car the way I want to do it? I am not planning on doing the whole restoration in a year or two because I don't have the money to do that so this project will be an ongoing thing. I'll get parts as I can afford them, one day I'll have a finished car.

Thanks

Oh and why isn't there a section for older 1970 Challengers?
Old 05-13-2009, 09:48 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

How much information do you have on the car? Have the vin deciphered and then check to see if it is # matching. If it is a specialty car... R/T, TA, SE or Western edition I would go back to stock. Worth more that way. But if its just a lowly 318 or 225 six, then mod away. Go with what ever you wish and make it what you want it to be. You can make it a tribute R/T or go pro touring, pro-street or G-machine. Its up to you and you can go as far as you want or spend carefully and be conservative. There are more parts out for the Challenger than at any other time by the aftermarket. You can get almost any panel now and any suspension you want to run. Stock brakes to 4 wheel discs they have them. Look at E-Bay motors under Challenger and then watch the fun. Let us know how you decide to go and keep us uptodate on the resto. Good luck.
Old 05-14-2009, 01:55 PM

Thank you so much for the reply. Helps me out a lot to know what to do with it. I'll keep you posted.