Dodge Challenger Forums

Dodge Challenger Forums (https://dodgechallenger.com/forum/)
-   General 1970-1974 Dodge Challenger Discussions (https://dodgechallenger.com/forum/general-1970-1974-dodge-challenger-discussions-30/)
-   -   HELP!!! 1970 Challenger purchase (https://dodgechallenger.com/forum/general-1970-1974-dodge-challenger-discussions-30/help-1970-challenger-purchase-7535/)

twitchyfinger 05-17-2010 02:46 AM

HELP!!! 1970 Challenger purchase

Hello Newbie here desperately trying to find out info on buying a car. I am looking at a 70 Challenger that has a "California Replacement Identification Number". There is no fender tag or broadcast sheet.
The car is not #'s matching,dose not have the original engine in it but now has a 440. I was told by the owner that the reason the car now has the Ca rep # is that back in the day the car was used in a robbery and thus the reason for no fender tag or broadcast sheet. I am just trying to figure out if the car is a good buy at 20K? Not looking for a #'s matching collector car but a nice restomod to build on and play with. Just don't want to loose money buying something that was not worth the price paid. Any help would be appreciated.

http://www.cars-on-line.com/46200/70dodge46210-1.jpg

Here is how the ad reads BTW I do have a picture of the replacement tag #:
Dodge Challenger. 440 (not # matching), pistol grip 4-speed, disc brakes, power steering, rallye gauge package, bucket seats, 15" rallye wheels, shiny red paint that may look orange in the pics, nice black interior. Car has a California Replacement Identification Number that starts with JS23V08. There is no fender tag or broadcast sheet. Car draws a lot of attention and runs well. Nice Saturday night big block 4-speed musclecar that is affordable!

lear4406 05-17-2010 04:04 PM