Dodge Challenger Forums

Dodge Challenger Forums (https://dodgechallenger.com/forum/)
-   Off Topic (https://dodgechallenger.com/forum/off-topic-6/)
-   -   A Wife's Request - Long but a good read (https://dodgechallenger.com/forum/off-topic-6/wifes-request-long-but-good-read-1306/)

Paladin06 05-04-2007 02:38 PM

A Wife's Request - Long but a good read

>> > WIFE'S REQUEST
>> >
>> >
>> > I was sitting alone in one of those loud, casual steak houses
>> >that you find all over the country.
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > You know the type--a bucket of peanuts on every table, shells
>>littering
>> >the floor, and a bunch of perky college kids racing around with long
>> >neck beers and sizzling platters.
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > Taking a sip of my iced tea, I studied the crowd over the rim of
>> >my glass. My gaze lingered on a group enjoying their meal.
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > They wore no uniform to identify their branch of service, but
>> > they
>>were
>> >definitely "military:" clean shaven, cropped haircut, and that
>> >"squared away" look that comes with pride.
>> >
>> >
>> > Smiling sadly, I glanced across my table to the empty seat where
>> >my husband usually sat.
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > It had only been a few months since we sat in this very booth,
>> >talking about his upcoming deployment to the Middle East.
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > That was when he made me promise to get a sitter for the kids,
>> > come
>>back
>> >to this restaurant once a month and treat myself to a nice steak.
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > In turn he would treasure the thought of me being here, thinking
>> >about him until he returned home .
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > I fingered the little flag pin I constantly wear and wondered
>> >where he was at this very moment. Was he safe and warm? Was his
>> >cold any better?
>> >Were my letters getting through to him?
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > As I pondered these thoughts, high pitched female voices from the
>> >next booth broke into my thoughts.
>> >
>> >
>> >