View Single Post
Old 02-11-2008, 01:45 PM
tonkindodge

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Who has a 2008 Challenger on order?

Here is the car professional's opinion:

I have been in the auto industry all my life. I have been a Fleet manager for about 15 years. Our dealership in Portland Oregon has four of the Challengers in C status. I tell everyone that calls me on them that buying a Challenger expecting it to be a collector's car is highly speculative. For people that only want to buy one to drive around and aren't wanting to put it in a museum then wait for the 2009. The 2009 will be no big deal, just a regular production car. It you are looking for collectibility, then the first year and last year of a production run are your best odds. Those are the ones who want the first/latest/best and they do pay a premium. The prices are set by supply and demand. Beach property will often sell for a premium due to limited supply and this is no different.

I doubt you will see any bargains on these limited-edition 2008s. Bargain hunters should wait for 2009. Also, for those who want a manual transmission, look at this page from the Chrysler dealer news:

“DRAG” YOUR CHALLENGER
Mopar Offers 1st Drag Race-Only Factory Package in 40 Years
Mopar is ratcheting up the interest and excitement surrounding the launch of the 2008 Challenger by offering a special factory package, built for NHRA-sanctioned Stock Eliminator drag racing. Availability is anticipated to begin during the first quarter of 2008 and will offer a host of features, including:
— Unique Serial Number Sequence
— Lightweight front fascia support system
— Variations of current HEMI® and 5.9L
Magnum® engines
— Automatic or manual transmission
— Composite lift-off hood with functional scoop
— Lightweight cooling module with electric fan
— Special modified drop-out front crossmember
— Lightweight drag race-only front brake assembly
— Seats to accommodate six-point harness