Notices
General Dodge Challenger Discussions Discuss anything related to the new Dodge Challenger within...

Cold Air Induction?

Old 02-05-2009, 01:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cold Air Induction?

Hey all, thanks for giving my post a look. I have an SRT with a 6 speed and I'd like to add CAI. Does anyone have experience with the Mopar version vs. a Volant or K&N aftermarket version? I definitely don't want one that requires oil. If you get an aftermarket CAI, does it do anything to the warranty? It would be so much easier to have the dealer throw one on if the performance is the same (might be a bit spendier I guess). And yes, I know I need to open up the exhaust to gain the full advantage.

Thanks in advance for the input.

John
Old 02-06-2009, 12:47 AM

Default RE: Cold Air Induction?

I have a MOPAR CAI on my 09 6 speed SRT. It definitely moves some air. No oil in the filter on the MOPAR unit.
I'm not a lawyer, but I can't see how the MOPAR CAI would void the factory warranty.
You can install the unit yourself in about 30 minutes. It's not difficult at all.
I would say the CAI is your first step in improving performance, followed by a free-flowing aftermarket CatBack exhaust (my preference is for the Corsa). Once those two items are installed, if you get a DiabloSport Predator programmer and load a 91 octane canned tune in your baby, she'll wake up to the tune of 10-20 more RWHP than the stock system.
Diablo doesn't have tunes out for '09 6-speeds yet, but are due out any day now.

I got my CAI from MoparSuperCenter, and my DiabloSport Predator tuner from