Notices
New Member Area Are you new to DodgeChallenger.com? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

stories from Steve

Old 11-22-2006, 12:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stories from Steve

My Motown Mopar Story

My name is Steve Legel, I live in metropolitan Detroit, and I am a car guy. If it’s OK with Bad Mirada, I’d like to share my experiences with you.

When you grow up in Detroit, in the 1960's and go to high school in the early 70's, you can’t help but be a car guy. I cruised Telegraph and Woodward in my buddy’s yellow 351 Mach 1. Half my uncles and both grandfathers worked among the Big 3. As an independent business owner, I have felt the fortunes and demise of the domestic auto industry and its intimate relationship with Michigan’s economy.

My first car was an 11 year old 1965 Plymouth Belvedere I bought from my dad’s uncle for $25.00. Its workhorse 318 had over 97,000 miles in it, as the speedometer had not worked for the past few years. The car came with a list. Monday put in oil, Tuesday put in air, Wednesday put in water, Thursday put in gas, drive over the weekend, start again on Monday. Rust holes had been covered over with tape and painted with Sears Weatherbeater white, a close match. The driver’s door handle did not work. You had to get in and out through the passenger side and slide across the bench seat. My great uncle was very frugal, and when the passenger side wiper blade gave out, he did not replace it. The resulting scratch arched across the windshield an eighth of an inch deep.