Notices
Engine Got engine work, simple or complex? Let's hear about it!

Reflashing the ECU?

Old 12-20-2008, 07:25 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reflashing the ECU?

I've been kind of interested in an '09 SE but I hate electronic nannies... I noticed there's a neutral rev chip that kicks in at 3,500 RPM and that drives me nuts... also I think there's a speed limiter.

Is there any way to reflash that out of the ECU? It may just be the difference between buying the Challenger or something else....
Midnight Drifter is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:23 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location:
Posts: 132
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Reflashing the ECU?

I have software from HP Tuners for tuning GM cars (and it easily takes care of the issues you mentioned). HP Tuners is working on the code to be able to tune/reflash Mopar ECUs. They say they are getting pretty close to releasing the Mopar version. HP Tuners is a complex program that requires the use of a laptop to tune the car. This is professional stuff...not for your average weekend warrior!
novawagonmaster is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:34 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location:
Posts: 245
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Reflashing the ECU?

I have a similar system I use to tune my '67 Mustang's FI system. You can control everything from rev limiter to injector duration and timing. Neat stuff.
epegasus is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 02:45 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Reflashing the ECU?


ORIGINAL: novawagonmaster

I have software from HP Tuners for tuning GM cars (and it easily takes care of the issues you mentioned). HP Tuners is working on the code to be able to tune/reflash Mopar ECUs. They say they are getting pretty close to releasing the Mopar version. HP Tuners is a complex program that requires the use of a laptop to tune the car. This is professional stuff...not for your average weekend warrior!
It would make it worth it to ensure the transmission shifts at redline... the engine makes peak power at 6,400 RPM and the friggin thing upshifts at 6,000[:@]
Midnight Drifter is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:59 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 191
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Reflashing the ECU?

Does the SE redline at 6500 rpm? That sounds high. I went with the Predator for my SRT and I can always return to the factory tune when I have to take it in for service.
Colorancher is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:16 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Reflashing the ECU?

Sounds like what I'm lookin' for. Since the old man's gonna buy an SRT-8, would it also work on the V6?
Midnight Drifter is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: