Notices
Off Topic A place to boldly go off topic. Just about anything goes.

Toyota learns the tyranny of software complexity

Old 03-02-2010, 02:33 PM
Super Moderator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Toyota learns the tyranny of software complexity

I thought you guys might find this article interesting.

Monday, March 1, 2010

Toyota learns the tyranny of software complexity

Mar 1 2010 9:03AM | Permalink |Comments (22) |

As a former auto engineer, I feel sorry for Toyota, I really do. To me it seems like their primary error was just believing their stuff has to be superior and can never break. Unfortunately, as cars get more and more complex, horrid problems like these unintended acceleration events are sure to occur. The rocket scientists that designed the Space Shuttle thought they were infallible and hot stuff too, until the ridiculous complexity of the machine caught up to them and the inevitable disasters started occurring. Maybe Toyota did the same kind of oversimplification of analysis that NASA did.

And believe it, a modern car is a wickedly complex device. Dozens if not hundreds of microprocessors are all whirring away, and they must communicate of the CAN bus to sense and control critical vehicle functions. The government has been concentrating on the reliability of pollution control functions, since it never occurred to them a car would get so complex its safety would fail in these subtle ways. When I was an engineer at Ford Motor I would often hear engineers exclaim “That is a million to one!” when I pointed out some subtle failure mode. I would respond, “Right, and how many cars does Ford make every year?” After they hemmed and hawed and admitted we were shipping 6 million vehicles year, I would ask which 6 people they wanted to kill, and what would they say to that person’s mother and loved ones?